Dutch chess champions



Benima, Süssholz, Veraart (visitor), Tresling, Olland, A. van Foreest

Pinédo, Loman, Tinholt (visitor), Kothe, D. van Foreest (1887)

De Klanderij in Leeuwarden

A historic tournament hall


pgn-file of annotated Dutch championship games          Information about Van 't Kruijs


Dutch national tournaments started with Amsterdam 1851 and Nijmegen 1858. The need for regular events led to the foundation of a chess federation in 1873. National tournaments were organised annually from that time. Stars of the early days were the strategist Maarten van ‘t Kruijs and tactician Jonkheer Dirk van Foreest. They gained little fame because they never took part in a foreign master tournament.


Leiden 1909: Esser, Olland, Loman, Leussen, Speijer

Utrecht 1926: Pannekoek, Meyer, Kersten, Euwe, Van Hoorn, Kloosterboer

Hartogenius (arbiter), Fick, Kroone, Loman, A. van Foreest, Schelfhout


A schism in 1906 was followed by a reconciliation of the federation in 1909. The first official championship was organised in the same year. Max Euwe made his debut in 1919. The importance of the championship grew with his prestige. He won twelve titles in fourteen events. Matches against Landau in 1939, Van den Hoek in 1942, Van Scheltinga in 1948 and Donner in 1955 got a lot of attention. The flamboyant Jan Hein Donner took over Euwe’s superiority in the 1950's, but it was a short reign. His literary feuds with Lodewijk Prins and Hans Ree became legendary. Even Donner had to accept the mastership of Ree after a ‘shadow championship’ match.


Euwe congratulates Donner in 1954

Lodewijk Prins, champion!


Jan Timman showed a real supremacy in the 1970's. He won seven titles in ten years. Later he gave priority to super tournaments and the world championship’s struggle. Nevertheless, he gained another two titles. Many titles went to players from the Leiden region at the end of the millennium. The autochthonous John van der Wiel, Riny Kuijf and Jeroen Piket started this trend. When the Bosnian refugees Ivan Sokolov and Predrag Nikolic came to their area, they also began to collect titles.


1987: Assistant, Van der Wiel, Gijssen (judge), Vanheste

Boersma - Cardon, Van der Sterren - Kuijf, Ligterink

Ree (walking ) - Riemersma, Pieterse-Timman, Sosonko

Loek van Wely will defeat Fritz in 2000

Van Wely - Sokolov in 2004


The fighter Loek van Wely gained seven titles in the new millennium. Official championship number sixty-four has been played in 2008. A sensation was the triumph by Giri in 2009. He also won in 2011 and 2012.


Friso Nijboer is defeated by the young Anish Giri in Haaksbergen 2009  


Official champions


1. Leiden 1909: Adolf Olland

2. Delft 1912: Rudolf Loman

3. Amsterdam 1913: Johannes Esser

4. Amsterdam 1919: Max Marchand

5. Nijmegen 1921: Max Euwe

6. Amsterdam 1924: Max Euwe

7. Utrecht 1926: Max Euwe

8. Amsterdam 1929: Max Euwe

9. Den Haag - Leiden 1933: Max Euwe

10. Rotterdam 1936: Salo Landau

11. Amsterdam 1938: Max Euwe

12. Netherlands 1939: Max Euwe

13. Den Haag 1942: Max Euwe

14. Rotterdam 1948: Max Euwe

15. Amsterdam 1950: Max Euwe

16. Enschede 1952: Max Euwe

17. Amsterdam 1954: Jan Hein Donner

18. Den Haag 1955: Max Euwe

19. Amsterdam 1957: Jan Hein Donner

20. Amsterdam 1958: Jan Hein Donner

21. Den Haag 1961: Hiong Liong Tan

22. Den Haag 1963: Frans Kuijpers

23. Den Haag - A’dam 1965: Lodewijk Prins

24. Zierikzee - Den Haag 1967: Hans Ree

25. Leeuwarden 1969: Hans Ree

26. Leeuwarden 1970: Eddy Scholl

27. Leeuwarden 1971: Hans Ree

28. Leeuwarden 1972: Coen Zuidema

29. Leeuwarden 1973: Genna Sosonko

30. Leeuwarden 1974: Jan Timman

31. Leeuwarden 1975: Jan Timman

32. Leeuwarden 1976: Jan Timman

33. Leeuwarden 1977: Viktor Korchnoi

34. Leeuwarden 1978: Timman, Sosonko

35. Leeuwarden 1979: Gert Ligterink

36. Leeuwarden 1980: Jan Timman

37. Leeuwarden 1981: Jan Timman

38. Amsterdam-Drachten 1982: Hans Ree

39. Hilversum 1983: Jan Timman

40. Hilversum 1984: John van der Wiel

41. Hilversum 1985: Paul van der Sterren

42. Hilversum 1986: John van der Wiel

43. Hilversum 1987: Jan Timman

44. Hilversum 1988: Rudy Douven

45. Hilversum 1989: Riny Kuijf

46. Hilversum 1990: Jeroen Piket

47. Eindhoven 1991: Jeroen Piket

48. Eindhoven 1992: Jeroen Piket

49. Eindhoven 1993: Paul van der Sterren

50. Amsterdam 1994: Jeroen Piket

51. Amsterdam 1995: Ivan Sokolov

52. Amsterdam 1996: Jan Timman

53. Rotterdam 1997: Predrag Nikolic

54. Rotterdam 1998: Ivan Sokolov

55. Rotterdam 1999: Predrag Nikolic

56. Rotterdam 2000: Loek van Wely

57. Leeuwarden 2001: Loek van Wely

58. Leeuwarden 2002: Loek van Wely

59. Leeuwarden 2003: Loek van Wely

60. Leeuwarden 2004: Loek van Wely

61. Leeuwarden 2005: Loek van Wely

62. Hilversum 2006: Sergei Tiviakov

63. Hilversum 2007: Sergei Tiviakov

64. Hilversum 2008: Jan Smeets

65. Haaksbergen 2009: Anish Giri

66. Eindhoven 2010: Jan Smeets

67. Boxtel 2011: Anish Giri

68. Amsterdam 2012: Anish Giri

69 Amsterdam 2013: Dimitri Reinderman

70. Amsterdam 2014: Loek Van Wely


Twelve titles: Euwe.

Nine titles: Timman.

Seven titles: Van Wely.

Four titles: Ree, Piket.

Three titles: Donner, Giri.

Two titles: Sosonko, Van der Wiel, Van der Sterren, Sokolov, Nikolic, Tiviakov, Smeets.

Twenty-six participations in a row: Van der Wiel.


Page about super tournaments

Go to home page